Subrogation Soup: The Law & Practicalities


Register Now

April 21, 2009 ABA JCEB Teleconference

1:00-2:30 pm ET / 12:00-1:30 pm CT / 11:00 am-12:30 pm MT / 10:00 am-11:30 am PT

 

Moderator:
Cynthia Marcotte Stamer
, Curren Tomko Tarski LLP, Dallas, TX

Speakers:
James McKown, Recovery Data Connect, L.L.C., Leawood, KS
Scott Douglas Marquardt, Total Plan Services, Inc, Dallas, TX

 

Properly designed and administered subrogation provisions in ERISA-covered group health plans and group insurance contracts can provide invaluable tools for managing costs. Unfortunately, various legal and practical problems often prevent ERISA-covered group health plans and insurers from realizing many of these benefits. With health care costs continuing to rise, many health plan administrators, insurers and fiduciaries are placing renewed emphasis on the design and enforcement of their plan’s subrogation provisions. Listen and learn as a distinguished and experienced panel discusses the legal and practical ins and outs of the design, administration, and defense of effective group health plan policies and practices in ERISA-governed group health plans including:

 

ü       Legal Basis of Subrogation Under ERISA

ü       Why, When & When Not To Subrogate

ü       The Law

ü       The Process From Drafting, to Adjudication, to Recovery

ü       Who Gets Hired To Do What, Why & When

ü       Sticking Points & Plan Problems

ü       Practical Dos & Don’t

For more information or to register, go to http://meetings.abanet.org/meeting/jceb/JCEB042109.

 

If you have questions or concerns about the matters discussed in this publication or other human resources, employee benefits or compensation matters, wish to obtain information about arranging for training or presentations by Ms. Stamer, wish to suggest a topic for a future program or publication, or wish to request other information or materials, please contact Ms. Stamer via telephone at (214) 270-2402 or via e-mail to Cstamer@Solutionslawyer.net.

 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: